Devotion

Now it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful. I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself. My conscience is clear, but that does not make me innocent. It is the Lord who judges me.

1 Corinthians 4:2-4

For years, I have noticed blackbirds swooping at hawks, basically attacking them in the air. This year, I saw the phenomenon six or seven times, much more than usual. I felt sorry for the hawk, such a beautiful and majestic animal. I imagined the hawk out on a leisurely flight, when out of nowhere three blackbirds dive bomb him. The hawk would fly away with the other birds still pursuing. I wondered if they ever gave him any peace.

Then, I realized how many judgments I had made in that scenario. Maybe the hawk had attacked the blackbirds first. Or perhaps the hawk had swooped in on the blackbirds’ nest, intent on having a baby blackbird for breakfast (try saying that five times fast). How was I to know what happened before the scene that I witnessed?

This became a lesson to me in judging. How can I judge another person when I don’t know what’s going on in their life? And even if I think I know what is going on in someone else’s life, I still shouldn’t judge because I don’t know what they’re thinking about what’s going on. My judgments are probably wrong.

And we can flip this around also. Don’t worry about what others think of you when they judge, because they don’t really know you, they don’t know what you’re going through, and they’re probably wrong.

God is the only one with true sight—internal and external. Make your peace with Him and move on.

Dear Lord, help me to remember that You are my only judge and You show me mercy whenever I ask for it. Help me to release other people to Your judgment, not subject them to mine. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

