Devotion

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given to you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

John 15:7-8

This devotion is for those who have loved ones or people close to you who do not believe in Jesus. For me, this would be the rest of my immediate family and several friends. When I try to explain what life is like with Jesus, they can’t understand because they haven’t experienced it. Sort of like trying to tell someone what it’s like to fall in love. They can imagine it, they can watch it on television, but until they fall for that special person, they can’t understand.

Sometimes I get discouraged as I wait for my loved ones to fall in love with Jesus. Part of the reason for this is because no one knows the true dynamic interaction which happens inside a person. Each person has a choice and must choose Jesus or not. And yet God also says He is the one to open hearts (John 6:44).

Are my loved ones not choosing God or is it not the time He has chosen to open their hearts? Either way, the wait seems too long for me. When I get anxious or impatient, I try to remember the verse above. This verse says that if we remain close to Jesus, we can ask whatever we wish and we will receive it—as long as it’s in God’s will. Since God wants none to perish (2 Peter 3:9), then the salvation of our loved ones must be in His will.

Keep believing. Practice patience as you trust God’s timing. Stay close to Jesus and earnestly pray for those who need Him.

Dear Lord, we release our loved ones to You. You love them even more than we do. Let our lives show them the joy of knowing You. And bring them to You in Your time. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

