Devotion

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles an creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

James 3:7-8

The other day I betrayed a confidence. Not on purpose, and it was actually out of excitement for the other person, but my tongue slipped just the same. The shame of it ate me up inside for days.

James understood how hard it is to tame the beast in our mouths. Over the years I’ve seen the reality of Luke 6:45—For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

What we harbor in our heart comes out of our mouths. Of course, we try to control it, keep a lock on our lips, but when we let our guard down even just a little, what’s in our hearts comes out through our mouths.

I tend to have a dry sense of humor, some might even say sarcastic. Years ago the remarks which would slip from my mouth would be sharp and cutting, not meant to hurt anyone, but certainly not kind. My heart overflowed and sewage came out. God has dealt with many of those heart issues in me and I’m grateful that my slips now come from excitement and happiness, although I still need to listen closer for the inner promptings of the spirit telling me to keep my mouth shut.

If you have trouble, as I do, wrangling the beast we call a tongue, try committing this scripture to memory. It has done amazing things in my life.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Psalm 51:10

Dear Lord, cleanse my heart, so my words can honor You. I give You the keys to my heart, so You may be the gatekeeper of my mouth. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

