Devotion

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you. Praise be to you, O Lord; teach me your decrees. With my lips I recount all the laws that come from your mouth. I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches. I meditated on your precepts and consider you ways. I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.

Psalm 119:10-16

When my youngest daughter was three, we prayed together before she went to preschool. I would do most of the praying and usually I prayed for strength (if you’ve ever had young kids you know why), but this day I prayed for peace and joy. I laughed when my daughter promptly asked me, “Mom, why are you praying for me to have pee?”

It can be the same way with us if we aren’t careful. Satan’s most effective tool is to take the truth and twist it just a little. When you twist the truth, even just a little, it becomes a lie.

How can we recognize the lies? Only by knowing the truth.

Where do we find the truth? You guessed it—in the Bible.

Don’t let others tell you what it says. Maybe they’re wrong. Find out for yourself.

Even if you don’t like to read, even if you don’t like to study, even if you have better things to do, we must be students of the word—no excuses.

Because otherwise we might end up trading peace for pee.

Dear Father, thank you that all we need to recognize the truth is to read the word You have given us. Why would we forsake the truth because we’re too busy to study? Help us with our priorities, give us a hunger for Your word and bless us with the peace that comes from knowing You. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

