Devotion

But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves to God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life.

Romans 6:22

I tend to be a strong-willed person who has trouble with submission, but the Bible is clear that we are to submit to God in a slave-like manner. So I started reading a book called Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity in Christ by John MacArthur. The book makes the point that we are already slaves to sin and our only freedom from sin comes with choosing to be a slave to Christ. As the book states:

“The choice with which people are faced is not ‘Should I retain my freedom or give it up to submit to God?’ but rather ‘Should I serve sin or should I serve God?’”

I mistakenly think I am giving up my freedom to be a slave to Christ, but I have it all backward. I don’t have true freedom until I become Christ’s slave.

What about you? Are you trying to hold onto your freedom when really all you are is a slave to sin?

Dear Lord, thank you for releasing us from bondage to sin. Help us to clearly see that our freedom is found in serving You, instead of our sinful nature. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

