Devotion

As for the person who hears my words but does not keep them, I do not judge him. For I did not come to judge the world, but to save it. There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words, that very word which I spoke will condemn him at the last day. For I did not speak of my own accord but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and how to say it.

John 12:47-49

God is a God of love …. and judgment.

But judgment is His. Even Jesus said He came not to judge the world but to save it.

If Jesus didn’t come to judge others, why do we think we are able to do it? An even better question: Why would we want to carry that burden? Think about it, haven’t you ever judged someone and then been proven wrong later? If our judgment condemned someone to death, the fear of being wrong would be too much for us to bear.

We all sin and God has the right to sentence any of us to death for it. But instead of sentencing us, He allows us to cover our sin in the blood of Jesus. He forgives us. I’m in such awe of His forgiveness, knowing all He could hold against me. How can I judge and condemn others when He has been so merciful to me?

Dear Lord, how amazing that You forgive us. Thank you that judgment is Yours and I don’t have to carry that burden. Help me to forgive others the way you have forgiven me. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

