Devotion

“Does Job fear God for nothing?” Satan replied. Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. But stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.”

The Lord said to Satan, “Very well, then, everything he has is in your hands, but on the man himself do not lay a finger.” Then Satan went out from the presence of the Lord.

Job 1:9-12

Have you ever felt tested, either by Satan or by God himself? I had a period of testing regarding a writing conference. I wanted to go but I felt this oppressive insecurity and fear surrounding the conference. I wrestled with this for a week asking God what I should do. It came down to a question of faith.

I thought God wanted me to go, so that’s what I decided to do. As soon as I made that decision, the oppressive feeling lifted.

I know why Satan didn’t want me to go. I heard God speak loudly at that conference.

Periods of testing aren’t much fun, but I’m reminded of a line in the song “Bring It On” by Stephen Curtis Chapman where he is telling Satan to bring it on. The song says “I’m not going to run from the very thing that will bring me closer to Him, so bring it on.”

Remember, if you’re being tested, God is only allowing it as a way to bring you closer to Him. Don’t be afraid to tell Satan to bring on the trials. No matter what happens, God will bring you through it.

Dear Lord, if I may be so bold as to thank you for times of testing. You use Satan’s schemes to advance Your own plans—how amazing is that? Strengthen us to endure and remind us You are always there. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

