Devotion

In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.

Exodus 15:13

Do you ever have moments of doubt?

Do you ever worry about how life will turn out?

Do you wonder if you’ll ever fulfill the dreams in your heart?

I have those moments, more often than anyone knows.

In times when I’m being honest, I realize these doubts are a faith issue. Despite God’s grace and mercy, sometimes I don’t believe He has my best interests in mind. I’d rather worry and fret because that keeps my illusion in place.

The illusion that I control my life.

And trust me, it’s an illusion. If we open our eyes wide, we’ll see who’s in control.

Him.

Not us.

Every once in a while, I have those moments where my sense of control is shattered—someone I know is diagnosed with cancer, my father-in-law has a heart attack, my newborn daughter is whisked off to intensive care.

It’s usually only when my illusion is smashed that I fully rely on the One who’s best suited to have control.

Dear Lord, help me to remember every day that You lovingly orchestrate my life, even during hard times. Give me the strength to surrender to the reality of Your control. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

