Devotion

Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jews. But now my kingdom is from another place.”

“You are a king, then!” said Pilate.

Jesus answered. “You are right in saying I am a king. In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.”

John 18:36-37

Those of us who know Christ know we are forgiven, but the amazing part about grace is that God doesn’t stop there. He doesn’t say: “Okay, now I’ve gotten rid of your sins, so go on your merry way.”

Nope. In fact, He forgives our sins just so we can take the next step with him. That next step is reconciliation. We are reconnected to God through Jesus. Jesus has restored our relationship with our heavenly Father.

I’ve seen many people who are excited to receive God’s forgiveness, who feel blessed to go to heaven when they die, but have no real desire for a relationship with God.

Why? Because having a relationship with God means making Him the king of your life. That’s not an easy thing to do, but it’s the position He deserves.

I’m reminded of the time when someone I knew asked for my opinion about an outcrop of granite. The dark rose granite had spidery milky-white lines running through it. This person thought these lines were worm holes. I told him they were actually veins of quartz and that a worm would have to be delusional to try burrowing through granite. Amazingly, this person refused to believe me, even though I had a geology degree and he didn’t. I was more qualified to answer the question, but he wanted to be right.

We do that sometimes with God, don’t we? Who is more qualified to run our lives—us or the all-knowing, completely-loving creator God?

He is more qualified, of course. And yet, we think we know better. We decide on a way that we want our lives to turn out, and we want to be right.

Dear Lord, I’m so grateful for Your forgiveness and Your offer of eternal life in heaven. Help me to remember this life is not about being right, it’s about having a right relationship with You. I can only do that when I make You king of my life. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

