Devotion

Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

James 4:13-15

Do you think there’s a difference between God in charge and God in control? Sometimes I find myself letting God be in control, but not in charge. Here’s what I mean. When I come across a situation I can’t do anything about—my son having surgery, my husband travelling, health problems—then I know it’s out of my hands and I give it up to God, like a good little Christian right?

Problem is, I give the hard stuff up to God, but for the rest of the stuff, I take over. I want to be in charge of everything else. Everything I think I can do down here on my own. I’ve even taught my son this way to handle his sports, “Do your very best, let God handle the rest.”

Not a bad philosophy, except when you forget, as I often do, that He’s in charge of it all.

Yes, all of it.

God is not around just to take over after we’ve done all we can, as if we have to exhaust our efforts before we need to bother Him. He wants to be involved in everything from what I have for breakfast to what I say to my five-year-old who plugged the toilet with flushable wipes again.

My heart knows He’s in charge, but my head takes over, ignoring this reality on a daily basis. To convince my head takes the constant effort of searching inside for His will. The more I look, the more I yield to Him.

Dear Lord, let me do my very best alongside You. Help me to remember You are in control and in charge of everything I do. May it all be for Your glory. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

