Devotion

The Lord foils the plans of the nations; he thwarts the purposes of the peoples. Bu the plans of the Lord stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.

Psalm 33:10-11

I sometimes have a problem with ambition. When I decided to be a geologist, I wanted to be the best rock hunter out there. As a stay at home mom, I attended conferences on how to be a better mom. Now that I’m a writer, I want to be as good as Ted Dekker (kind of like Stephen King for Christians—I know, a scary role model).

Apparently, this has been a lifelong issue because I can remember wanting to be the first woman president, Dr. Grant from Jurassic Park, an astronaut, and even Brittany Spears (yes, I’m dating myself).

God continues to deal with me on this issue, but we’re making progress because I truly desire a submissive heart. There’s nothing wrong with ambition in itself. The problem comes when I wear myself out leaping for that hoop I can never jump through. So God’s been teaching me something important in this area:

I need to think less of my ambition and more of my submission.

God can handle the jumping for me if I just get out of the way. And with Him as my springboard, that hoop doesn’t seem so far out of reach. But then again, maybe He’ll turn me around and point out the open door behind me.

Dear Lord, help me to submit to Your leading. Don’t let my ambition overrun my submission. Keep me right in Your perfect will each step of the way. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

