Devotion

Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

James 1:27

This is my first winter in a vehicle with heated seats, and let me say …. oh, wow, how did I live without them? They heat up faster than the van’s heater so that within three minutes I’m wrapped in a cocoon of warmth. I’m so toasty in my van bubble that I have to drag myself out to run errands. I imagine it’s the same feeling I had leaving my mother’s womb.

But eventually I have to go outside and dart from store to store, trying to be in the cold air as little as possible. And I started thinking (maybe a warm brain is more active?) about how easy it is to get comfortable in our own bubble—whether it’s our own neighborhood, our own schools, or even our own country—and forget about the suffering going on around us. While Christmas is a celebration of the birth of Jesus, not of His suffering on the cross, I still think it’s a time to examine how our lives conform to His image.

God made us to make a difference. And there are so many places where we can. Orphans and widows exist all over the world, even in our own community, and there will always be an opportunity to take care of the poor.

Are you in a bubble? Or are you out there making a difference in the cold, harsh world? Because those who are out there, need us.

Remember them, this Christmas, and you will honor the birth of the precious Christ child.

Dear Lord, keep us centered in You, so we can stay focused on how to help the people You created for this world. Bring opportunities our way to make a difference. Give us love and compassion for those who need us. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

