Billions of Beats

small_320695236

The other day while lying in bed cuddling with my nine-year old girl, I put my hand on her chest. The steady thump, thump of her heart pulsed below my fingertips. How many times have I taken for granted the miracle of that heartbeat? Not just in her or my other two kids, but in myself, as well.

Our hearts are designed to work hard, to grow with increased demand and to never miss a beat. Made up of a special type of muscle (not found anywhere else in the body), the heart doesn’t tire out because the muscle has a large number of mitochondria, myoglobin and available oxygen.

How many times has your heart beat in your lifetime? How many more steady, faithful pumps will it give before you die?

If you want to know how many times you heart has beaten in your lifetime, click here for a simple calculator. I did this and discovered my heart has beaten more than 1.5 billion times already in my lifetime. If I live into old age then it will probably push blood through my body for almost 3 billion times. That’s an amazing, automatic miracle that happens every second of every day.

Most people have a resting heart rate of around 70 beats per minute. If it took you two minutes to read this blog post, then you’ve experienced 140 miracles straight from the hand of The Almighty. God himself allows every one of our heartbeats.

As I carried each of my kids, this miracle began during the fifth week of pregnancy, as their heart grew and started its rhythm. This heart muscle is central to our existence. God designed us to need it. And when something goes wrong, it threatens our very lives.

This is why God tells us to turn our hearts—our whole existence—to Him (1Kings 8:61). We are to acknowledge Him as our physical and spiritual creator and to give all of ourselves over to His loving hands.

What about you? Does God control your whole heart today? When’s the last time you stopped to marvel at the miracle of a heartbeat?

 

Reference: http://www.teachpe.com/anatomy/types_of_muscle.php, http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/pregnancy-week-by-week/in-depth/prenatal-care/art-20045302

Photo Credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/carowallis1/320695236/”>Caro Wallis</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;
Leave a Reply

