Devotion

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:10-11

How many hours a day do we spend on electronic devices or thinking about things on our electronics, like games, TV shows, networking sites? I confess that I love my lap top, I don’t go anywhere without my Kindle, and I’ve been known to suddenly lose an hour after being pulled into Facebook, so I’m preaching as one of the sinners in this area.

Consider this quote:

“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.” –Albert Einstein

Oh, Albert, how did you know the constant struggle we’d face? While, he was probably referring to the atom bomb, the comment applies to many of our interactions today. How many times have we missed a meaningful conversation by playing games on our phone and ignoring the person next to us in line or answering one more e-mail while our child hops around begging for attention?

Our devices are tools, not substitutes for real world interactions.

Dear Lord, help us to use our technology to better the lives around us. Break our addictions when the electronic world controls us. And help us to honor your name in both the cyber world and the real world. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

