Devotion

His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

Matthew 25:21

“Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can’t lose.” –Bill Gates

Success feels great and sometimes it’s a gift from God. Other times, success can be a test. A whole-scale challenge to every part of your life. Often, it brings additional pressure to keep achieving, to set the bar higher, to keep impressing those who have believed in you.

I find failure somewhat easier to deal with, spiritually speaking. In the throes of rejection or disappointment, I cling to Jesus as the definition of my life, because I can do nothing else.

But when success comes, it’s too easy to let that success define me—and make me insecure about losing it. Living with success requires constant effort to focus on the One who gave it to you. If you are there right now, are you making the effort?

Dear Lord, whether I’m experiencing rejection or accolades, let my focus be on You and Your will. Give me a heavenly perspective. Remind me that all the success in the world cannot compare to hearing You say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

