Devotion

In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:6

In the span of a month, my sister lost her dog, the co-director of her company quit, a close friend moved out-of-state, and she lost her best friend of eighteen years in a car accident. Quite a lot to handle for anyone, even more for my sister who doesn’t like change.

I drove down to see her, expecting to answer any number of questions from “Why did all this happen,” to “Is God punishing me?” But I was amazed.

Rather than lashing out at God for all the stacked up suffering, she acknowledged a deep spiritual truth.

She said, “At first I couldn’t believe God was making me deal with all this stuff at once, but then I realized, through losing my dog, and the other stuff, God prepared me to deal with change so that I could handle it when Bambi (her best friend) died.”

She realized God didn’t do this stuff to her. He was helping her through it. His timing is perfect, even in tragedy.

Dear Lord, thank you for the insight into Your ways. You are here with us in the midst of our suffering, making sure we have what we need to get through. May we always look to You to show us the way. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

