Devotion

Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.

John 17:3

Recently, a blog post from a friend of mine really made me think. She wrote about how to seek God when reading the Bible. Usually, I search for God’s will for me personally, but she also challenged her readers to read the Bible for less self-centered reasons. To learn more about who God is.

How many times have you read the Bible just to know more about God’s character? I’ll confess first: uh, not much. The conviction I felt after reading this post was deep and immediate. The God of the universe took the time to write down for me everything I will ever need to know about Him, but most of the time I read the Bible merely to find out how to spend my days–to find out how His word affects me.

If that’s all I focus on, I’m missing the point of the relationship. A relationship is by definition two-sided. I can live my life being the best Christian around, but if I don’t know Him, it would all be for nothing.

This is one area where an old saying applies: “It’s not what you know, but who you know.” How well do you know Him?

Dear Lord, give me a fresh desire to understand Your character. Only in knowing You can we have the relationship You desire. The relationship that I need. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

