Fun Science Fact

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I had a cat for fourteen years, but then she died and since my husband is allergic I won’t ever get another one. It’s sad because I love cats. Thankfully, we have two cats next door who give me my kitty fix whenever I need it (minus the litter).

Don’t get me wrong, I love my dog as well and in some ways she’s easier, but she’s a Labrador retriever. Any of you who have a Lab know they are a sweet, loyal, and loving shadow, following you everywhere. They come with only one drawback—their drinking. I swear if that dog gets one molecule of water in her mouth, she leaves a million on the floor. Then, she walks away from the bowl with water/spit dripping in a ten foot trail across the kitchen. A definite slipping hazard for my race-around-the-house kids.

Sometimes I wish my dog could be more like a cat. Watching a cat drink is an exercise in God designed physics. The cat touches the surface of the water with a curled tongue, causing water to stick to it. As the water rises out of the bowl, the cat shuts its mouth at the perfect time to keep the water from falling back into the bowl, thus eliminating the mess found all around my dog.

Cats know the exact frequency needed to keep the balance between gravity and inertia. For house cats, it’s about four laps per second (slightly slower for bigger cats). Any more frequent and the water would splash around, any less and the cat won’t quench its thirst.

This leaves me wondering, if I bring the cats from next door over here, would they give my dog lessons on how to drink?

Reference: “Kitty Physics,” Answers, Oct-Dec 2013, 8(4), p. 26.

Photo Credit: ID 25501359 © Borzywoj | Dreamstime.com
Leave a Reply

