Devotion

Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ.

Romans 8:5,9

I’m in a bathroom stall at the airport and I hear screaming. The loud, angry scream of a mother yelling at her child. I come out and start to wash my hands.

More screaming. Those of us at the sink look at each other, wondering where it’s coming from and not sure what to do. I almost left, but a nudge from somewhere within turned me around.

I peeked over the other set of sinks and found a woman sitting on the floor, trying to change a poopy diaper on her two-year old daughter. The girl was rolling around in the mess, desperate to get away from the screaming, which only made the mom yell more.

Right then, I had to make a choice. I wanted to lecture the woman about how it wasn’t her daughter’s fault, that her daughter didn’t deserve this, and that all she had to do was grab the girl’s feet, hold her down with one arm and wipe with the other, a maneuver I’ve done hundreds of times.

Fortunately, the Holy Spirit took over.

Instead, I knelt down next to her and said, “Let me help you.” I grabbed the wipes and we cleaned the girl up, then I managed to get her diaper on while she squirmed. After we were done, the woman thanked me and I went to wash my hands. Another woman came up and whispered in my ear, “That was a great thing you did.”

But she was wrong. I didn’t do it. I wanted to lecture the woman and tell her what a bad mom she was. It was Jesus that did it. And the feeling of being used by Him is addictive (in a good way).

Dear Lord, it’s humbling and amazing when You take over and we do things so radically opposed to our nature. Let us all become addicted to being used by You. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

