Devotion

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.

I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.

Praise be to you, O Lord; teach me your decrees.

Psalm 119:9-16

 

I stand at attention in Tae Kwon Do class. I’m fighting a cold. The master tells us to kick, reverse side kick, roundhouse kick, jumping front kicks. He says to kick again, and again, and again. Somewhere around the fortieth kick, I cough into my sleeve and wobble a little. Why am I here? Because I want to promote beyond an orange belt next Saturday and I need one more class to be eligible. Better question. Why must we do so many kicks?

If I were to ask the master, I know what he would tell me (although I won’t actually ask because he would probably make me do pushups just for asking). He would tell me I am training my body so when trouble comes I won’t have to think, I will just defend myself. Such a simple answer, but to put it in practice requires so much work.

Same reason God says we need to study and hide His word in our hearts. His word is our defense in times of trouble. We need to train ourselves to be able to call up His word instantly. Does this mean you have to memorize the whole bible? No, I’m certainly not there, but we need to study enough to know the truth from a lie and to recognize His voice when He speaks.

Dear Lord, thank you for making us to need discipline because it keeps us close to You. Give us joy in studying Your word and recognizing You in the world around us. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

