Devotion

In the same way the chief priests and the teachers of the law mocked him among themselves. “He saved others,” they said, “but he can’t save himself! Let this Christ, this King of Israel, come down now from the cross, that we may see and believe.” Those crucified with him also heaped insults on him.

Mark 15:31-32

I was trained as a geologist and worked in the field for four years after graduation. After I quit work to stay at home with my kids, I attended a church class that helped me become a creationist, meaning that I now believe in a literal seven day creation by God and that the earth is a lot younger than a few billion years old.

Several of my previous colleagues found out about my creationist beliefs. Most were kind enough not to mock me to my face but a few did, in the hopes of convincing me of the error of my ways.

I’ll be honest, sometimes it made me angry that colleagues who used to respect me could show such disrespect because I didn’t agree with them. But when I want to shout against the disrespect of those who mock me, I remember that Jesus was mocked as well–even while he was dying. His only response to his persecutors was to forgive them for what they had done. Jesus knew that people would reject Him, yet He declared the truth every second of His earthly life.

Despite the voices that might say I’m crazy, ignorant or brainwashed, I’m not afraid to believe the Bible is true. Are you?

Dear Lord, thank you that You are truth and I need not search any further. I rejoice in the glory of Your creation and all those whom you created, including those people who mock me. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

