Devotion

Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if not accompanied by action, is dead.

But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”

Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.

James 2:15-18

When I get discouraged about my attempts to get published, my friend Katie tells me I am a writer because I write. Similarly, if you’re a painter, you paint. Or if you’re a manager you manage.

Being a Christian is a like that. We become more like Christ by doing what he did. I don’t want anyone to misunderstand. We are saved by grace through faith and NOT by our works or deeds. But the point James was making in the above scripture passage is that our works show the extent of our salvation. Christ helped the poor, he had compassion on the sick, he paid attention to those that other people didn’t. While we aren’t saved by works, our works are evidence of our heart. If you find yourself being critical, judgemental and impatient with others, then where is your heart?

Be a Christian—act like Christ. Simple, and yet the most challenging example we will ever follow.

Dear Lord, conform us to Your image inside and out. Give us eyes to see the work You have given us and the people you put in front of us each day. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

