Devotion

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

James 1:12

The other day I was having a little bit of writer’s block. I did the first thing I could think of—I prayed for God to help. Then I immediately felt guilty that I hadn’t prayed for Him to bless my writing before I got stuck. At that moment I think God told me two things: 1) at least I went to Him when I was stuck, some people are too proud to ask, and 2) He puts things in our lives on purpose so we will turn to Him.

Let me say that again. He puts frustrating/annoying/difficult/impossible things in front of us on purpose.

Why? So we will turn to Him. If we can get through everything on our own, then what’s the point of even thinking about God? And if we do it all on our own, then who are people seeing? Us, not Him.

Be grateful for the thorn in your side, the difficult task that makes you stop and focus, the issue that turns you back to God on a daily basis. This is God saying “I want you to need Me, so you never forget who you are and where you’re going.”

Dear Lord, let us remember You orchestrate our lives for Your glory. What a blessing to be turned back to You every day. Help us to deal with that independent part of us that wants to do it on our own. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

