Devotion

This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him.

Deuteronomy 30:19-20

After a particularly bad fight with my son, I went up to his room and sat next to his bed. I could tell from the rhythmic breathing that he’d already fallen asleep. As my eyes adjusted to the dark, I thought about the difficult year we’d had, how things seemed to be coming to a head. I wondered if we might come to a turning point, a point after which everything changes.

And then, in the glow of the nightlight, I had an epiphany. They are all turning points. Every moment of every day I make choices: good, bad and ugly. In each of those moments I get to choose. I can constantly re-invent my life just by making a different choice.

But sometimes feelings get in the way. Feelings are like the Iowa weather: wait five minutes and they will change. When I base my day on how I feel, I take away the choice to decide on my attitude and my actions.

I don’t know yet whether my son will choose to make his first moment tomorrow a turning point, but I will. I pray that each of us sees the power in the choices we have for just this moment.

Dear Lord, thank you for the freedom that comes with free will. Give us Your wisdom to control our emotions and make every day a turning point, a point when we turn toward You. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

