Devotion

 

Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.

Proverbs 27:1

I confess that I have a hard time being present in the now. Maybe it’s the planner in me, but somehow I’m always looking toward the future, planning my next move. And when I’m not doing that, I’m analyzing everything I did or said in the past to help me plan for the future. Whatever is going on now only gets a small part of my attention.

Sometimes, I’m even guilty of thinking the future will be better than today. Like maybe life would be easier when I had only one kid at home, or even better when they all are in school. But the problem is, then I miss the moments I have right now. Those are the moments where I can make a difference.

Of course there’s nothing wrong with planning, but there’s a reason God said to release our worries/fears/concerns about the future. Don’t sacrifice God’s plan for your today by wishing for tomorrow.

Dear Lord, help us to treasure every second of this day you have made. Open our eyes to the opportunities to serve You each day. In Jesus’s name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

